Sumner Cowley Electric District Maps-All Districts.jpgEvery member of Sumner-Cowley Electric is also a member, with voting rights and representation on the cooperative board.  Seven directors are elected by members to represent each of our geographic districts, each director serves a three-year term.  Board meetings are typically the fourth Wednesday of every month. Directors may be nominated by petition in accordance with the cooperative bylaws.

Elections for the Board of Directors are held by mail-in ballot and results are announced at the Annual Meeting. The terms are rotated by district and at least one seat is up for election each year. 


District 1 - Craig Knudsen

District 1  - Craig Knudsen - Director                   

District 1  - Craig Knudsen - Director           

Craig moved to rural Oxford 8 years ago to open and run Wickman chemical. He lives on a farm with his dog, Optimus. While living in Oxford, he has been an active member in the Oxford Lion’s Club serving on many different committee’s and being the club President. In his free time outside of helping local farmers he enjoys hunting and watching the Kanas City Chiefs and Kanas City Royals.       

District 2 - Jeff Swanson

District 2 - Jeff Swanson - Secretary/Treasurer

District 2 - Jeff Swanson - Secretary/Treasurer

Jeff is committed to continuing his role as Secretary/Treasurer for Sumner Cowley Electric, ensuring the cooperative adheres to its founding principles, where members steer the cooperative's path to delivering electricity safely, reliably, and affordably. He staunchly upholds the notion that the cooperative is member-owned, and his duty is to act in the cooperative's best interests. Jeff obtained his Cooperative Credentialed Director certification in 2017 and acquired a Board Leadership Certificate from NRECA the same year. With an educational background rooted in community values, Jeff holds an associate degree from Cowley County Community College and both bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Kansas State University. He has lent his expertise to various organizations, serving on the board of directors for Two Rivers Cooperative, Rural Water District 3, and the Cowley County Extension. Currently residing in District 2, Jeff resides on the family farm east of Arkansas City, sharing his life with his wife, Darla, for 37 years. Alongside his role at Sumner Cowley Electric, Jeff also serves as an insurance agent for Farm Bureau Financial Services, further demonstrating his commitment to supporting rural communities.

District 3 - John Beard - Director

District 3 - John Beard - Director

District 3 - John Beard - Director 

John Beard has served two terms on the Sumner-Cowley Board of Directors.  He and his wife Abby are raising their beautiful little girl in the rural Udall area.  After earning his associate degree at Butler Community College, John returned to his roots to continue as the fifth-generation farmer in his family.  John’s grandfather, Gene Beard, retired from the SCEC Board of Directors in 2017 after proudly serving for 18 years.  John was happy to fill that seat, and continue representing COOP members, friends, and family.  During his 6 years as a director, John has earned his Credentialed Cooperative Director certificate (CCD), his Board Leadership Certificate (BLC), and his Director Gold Credential (DGC).  Aside from his full-time farming operation, and his position on Sumner-Cowley’s Board of Directors, John also serves on the Two Rivers COOP Board, and the Cowley County Rural Water District #07 Board. 


District 4 - Keith Leddy

District 4 - Keith Leddy - Vice President

District 4 - Keith Leddy - Vice President

Keith Leddy was originally elected to the board in 2012 and will enter his 5th term.  He currently serves as board vice president.  Leddy has obtained his Credentialed Cooperative Director Certificate (CCD), Board Leadership Certificate (BLC) and through continued director training has also earned his NRECA Director Gold Credential. He and his wife, Michelle, live in the rural Conway Springs area.


District 5 - James "Jim" McMullin

District 5 -  James "Jim" McMullin - Director

District 5 -  James "Jim" McMullin - Director 

James “Jim” McMullin is Sumner-Cowley’s newest board member.  His parents were raised in the Danville and Freeport communities in Harper County.  McMullin was raised in Argonia where he attended elementary through high school.  McMullin attended KSTC-Emporia and Wichita State University.  McMullin married his wife, Cindy, who was raised in Wellington where the family settled after marriage. The McMullins became members of Sumner-Cowley in 1978 while building a home outside of Wellington on his wife’s grandparent’s farm.  The McMullins raised their daughters on the farm and continue to live there.  McMullin worked for Southwestern Bell and AT&T and is still employed in the telecommunications industry.  He has served multiple terms on the USD 353 Board of Education and has also served on numerous committees at First United Methodist Church in Wellington, where the family remains members today.  In the time that McMullin was on the board at Sumner-Cowley Electric Cooperative he earned his Credentialed Cooperative Director (CCD) Certificate and is currently working on obtaining his Board Leadership Certificate (BLC).  Both are director programs, filled with a robust variety of electric cooperative centered education and training.

District 6 - Gabe Schlickau

District 6 - Gabe Schlickau

District 6 - Gabe Schlickau- Director

Gabe Schlickau has served two terms on the board.  He and his wife, Emily, reside near Danville with their two children, Harry, 14, and Lena, 12.  They are active in the local schools and youth sports activities.  He is a long-time volunteer of the Harper County Fair Board and 4-H program.  Schlickau is employed by CoBank, where he works with agribusiness throughout the state to meet their credit and banking needs.  He is an advocate for agriculture, rural development and the importance of the cooperative business model for our quality of life in south-central Kansas.

District 7 - John Schon - President

District 7 - John Schon - President

District 7 - John Schon - President 

John Schon was elected to the board in 2003 and will enter his eighth term.  He currently serves as board president. He has earned his CCD and BLC certificates, and his NRECA Director Gold Credential through continued education.  Schon and his wife, Tommie, live in the rural Argonia area.

Contact Your Director

Contact Your Director
Billing Address
If you are unsure which district you vote in, please view the online map and detailed descriptions.
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.